> NorthLegal Webinar: 1099-C and 1099-A Reporting: The Rules and Court Decisions

Thursday, December 13, 2012
1:00 PM (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada)
2:00 PM

 

Date:

Thursday, December 13, 2012 

 

Time:

10:00 AM  PST

11:00 AM MST

12:00 PM  CST

1:00 PM  EST

Speaker:

Attorney Eric M. North of

Moore Brewer Wolfe Jones Tyler & North

Eric will discuss:

§  Exactly when a debt should be reported on form 1099-C or 1099-A, and why you should not report too soon.

§  How to complete the forms—including the new field.

§  Why filing a 1099-C properly should not affect your right to collect the reported debt, but why filing it improperly might.

§  What happens if you report for the wrong year.

§  Whether and how to report losses from foreclosures, short sales, and voluntary surrenders of property.

§  What you should do if a debtor pays a debt after a 1099-C has been filed.

§  The effect of sale or assignment of a debt on reporting requirements.

§  Whether you can use 1099-C or 1099-A reporting as a collection tool.

§  When debts discharged in bankruptcy should and should not be reported.

§  How courts interpret your 1099-C reporting obligations.

§  Common mistakes financial institutions make with respect to 1099-C and 1099-A reporting, and how to avoid them.

For more information about this program click on this link

or call NorthLegal Training and Publications at 623.537.7150